• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Advice wanted - weekend or summer Reserve BMQ?

Pea

Inactive
Reaction score
I have been contemplating this for a while and I am having trouble coming up with a decision. I have read countless threads on basic training, but I am looking for personal opinions.

I have applied to join a reserve unit as a RMS Clerk. The recruiter said that I can get on the weekend BMQ starting in October. I would then go on to complete the other courses next summer. Many friends are suggesting I wait and take the summer BMQ next summer. I am a recent college grad, and I start work full time in 2 weeks. My friends suggest that I wait and take the summer course next year because I will be new at my job and just getting started there, so they think I need to have my weekends off for the first few months until I am settled in at my new job. I agree that this sounds like a good idea. My only doubt is because I really want to get trained.

So what do you suggest? What would you do? Also, which BMQ would you suggest? I know everyone has a different opinion, but I look forward to that.

Thanks for all who share some input!

edited for grammar

Honestly, do your BMQ weekend, its done out of the way, and then you can go on to your (SQ if applicable) and trades the following summer. And get to go to your unit, and learn things there as well.

If you're doubting putting it off  it isn't that a clear enough indication that you want to to do it now? Don't let them decide for you

card11, i'm in the same boat as u, i have read countless threads on both summer and weekend BMQ.  I have come to the conclusion that the Summer BMQ is way better.  but do I want to do the weekend just to be done and have my next summer open for SQ and BIQ,  I feel i will get my full experience on those corseses.

not being in school I was able to catch a BMQ in the spring