• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Another academics question

Islander03

Inactive
Reaction score
Hey guys, So I put in my application in last September for the 2011-2012 year. My high school marks were pretty decent (mid 80's). I'm now in 1st year at UPEI and my marks have dropped significantly. im pulling a 56 in one calculus class, the rest 60's and low 70's. Im patiently waiting to see if I get accepted for this september but will these low 1st year marks affect my chances of getting accepted to RMC for 2nd year?

- Matt

Technically you would not be accepted as a second year most likely (I have several class mates including myself with prior university credits) What will happen is that you will be accepted as a first year, given a Prior Learning Assessment Report where your transfer credits will be evaluated. Then after FYOP you can apply for second year status (for everyone who tried this year it took so long that they were first year all year and will be granted third year status next year instead) Basically your credits WILL count towards your degree, but you will be required to take the core courses at RMC for first year etc. (Hope that some of your transfer credits count for the core courses.) As for marks, everyone's marks drop, usually significantly, in first year. They will take this into account. A lot of people here in first year have grades very similar to yours right now. I wouldn't be OVERLY worried about it.

DexOlesa said: