• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Applying for Hull Tech this morning

Migmonkey

Inactive
Reaction score
Hi guys.
Going in this morning to apply for Hull Tech.
Not really interested in anything else.
Electrical might be an option, but I can be a land lover for that.

My situation;
I've been an unticketed welder for about two years now.
Just various mig/stick jobs with a tiny bit of stick in construction.
I got into the local IBEW 353 for 309a electrician.
Did the basic two week safety and  training and now sitting on my can, waiting for work, and doing my grade 11 physics through correspondence.
I have a grade 12 data management  university stream, at least, with a 72% average.
Also have a university degree in philosophy (naval gazing) ;D.

I'm not as interested in electrical as I am in welding.
I run a clean bead with both short circuit and spray on all sorts of gauge mild steel.
Also did some aluminum.

I suspect I'm going to have a rocky road because of some bits and bobs in my history, medical and in regards to John law. :facepalm:
We shall see.
I was hoping there would be more threads in this sub topic.
Mostly crickets. Oh well.
Cheers.

Good luck with your application.  It's a great trade and if you're successful you'll see many changes come to pass. 

So how much welding do the guys actually do, as a percentage of time?
Do they do other processes instead of just MIG/Fluxcore? TIG? Stick? Submerged arc?
I noticed plumbing and pipe fitting. Sounds like a really neat opportunity. I've done purely plate and thin gauge  with some aesthetic stuff.

Does the trade weld the actual hull? Or is that done by civilian contractors in dry-dock?

Anyhow, its an exciting trade none the less.
How much sailing and how much in home port does the average sailor expect in this trade?

Thank you kindly. ;D