• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

I want to become an infantry officer......

Status
Not open for further replies.

scottyg

Inactive
Reaction score
Hey there, I am in my first year of university and the infantry officer position is becoming more and more appealing each day. I would prefer to be a soldier, because they do the cool sniper/machine gunner positions, but frankly I do not want to waste a university education and get paid less....so I will stick with infantry officer....I have a lot of questions though AND I realize some of them may be answered on the CF website or by talking to recruiters, but honestly I want a first hand account, and most of these questions are too specific for the recruiters...thanks guys....any help is appreciated

1) What are the pay deductions like (in numbers $$) for an infantry officer? (assuming I lived on base and had a meal plan)
ex. If I made $50,000 a year how much would I really be taking home?

2) What are some of the courses an infantry officer can take to improve himself/herself and what are the courses that are necessary for promotion?
ex. I want to know about the jump programs and mountain warfare etc., but also details about the leadership programs

3) How hard is it to rank up and what is the best way in achieving this? The recruiter told me whether or not I receive a honours degree or a normal bachelors degree is irrelevant, is this true?
ex. I believe that you are almost guaranteed the rank of captain assuming you are competent, however how hard/what does it take to become a major and etc.?

4) If I start in the military at age 21-22, I legally have to retire after 43-44 years in the service....I may not be in for that long, but how does the years of service affect the pension plan?