• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

I want to join CF

• Thread starter Thread starter JH_
  • Start date Start date

JH_

Inactive
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm a university student in final year of undergrad (at u of toronto currently).  I want to join CF as DEO Inf O. Personally, I have a V2 vision and happen to be a seasoned triathlete/marathon runner.  I don't have any weight issue or heart problem. I can run a marathon in 3hr 49min and can do 10km under 40min.  But, personally, I don't really understand how tough the trainings are like in the army.  When I went to the recruitment centre, I was told to apply in January when I know for sure about my graduation.  My questions are:

1) how competitive is it to join CF as DEO Inf O?
2) what's it like to march with heavy gear on yourself (i.e. where to expect injuries and etc)?
3) can I get help if I'm injured during training (i.e. get note from the doc to get sports massage or physiotherapy after the training to recover quicker)?

cheers,

jay

2) You get used to it. Watch the knees and ankles. If your ruck is poorly adjusted your back and shoulders could hurt like hell, and may pinch off circulation in the arms. Always use your waist strap. Work up the weight you carry over time- but don't worry, on basic they won't kill you right off the bat. They know most people coming in have not rucked before.

3) If you're injured during the course of your duties in the CF you will be looked after medically and will either be accommodated in training or given the option to re-course if you're too hurt to continue.

JH_