• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Is being a Military Policeman boring like everyone says?

Dentyl344

Inactive
Reaction score
I’m a 21 year old online criminal justice student, I’m a security officer who patrols downtown and a casual assistant team lead at the local homeless shelter. I live in a pretty drugged up city and have dealt with my fair share of overdoses, assaults, knifes being pulled and all kinds of crazy stuff with only handcuffs and a slash vest. However, my posting downtown is only till June as Peace officers are taking over and I am only casual at the homeless shelter. I finish my diploma next year in December, and I plan on becoming a military police man but everyone tells me it’s boring, and that I’ll hate it. I’m young, and I want to deploy/grow as much as I possibly can before I eventually enter the RCMP as an experienced officer. I love my heart racing at work, and I don’t want to take a step away from that into something like only patrolling a CFB, handling the occasional domestic or writing tickets. I understand that you have to start somewhere, when I started security it was only access control and fire watches but I had to that for a year until I proved myself at the shelter and was given my new posting. If I ended up joining the Military Police, how long would I have to stay on a CFB before I can get more training and enter a role of higher responsibility? I know Canadians don’t get deployed nearly as much, but what other branches have applicable work to law enforcement and also provide a high chance of deploying?

Dentyl344 said:
...I plan on becoming a military police man but everyone tells me it’s boring, and that I’ll hate it.
I suppose my first question is, who is this "everyone" that is telling you it's boring and what experience do they have with being MP?