• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

New Crown

Maybe so, but the RCMP has only been to Afghanistan once so I just find it weird they felt the need to specify dates when other Canadian units didn't. Many of those units, especially in the Reserve, didn't have members deployed for the entire mission but got the dateless "Afghanistan" honour anyways. I'm far from an expert.

As far as the requirements, I don't know that either.

Doesn't reference the RCMP, but this was the criteria for the CAF.

“Afghanistan” Theatre Honour​

• Units of the Royal Canadian Navy will be granted the Theatre Honour “Afghanistan” if their cumulative contribution of personnel reached a minimum of 20 per cent of the strength of the originating unit in the geographical area of Afghanistan.
  • Units of the Canadian Army will be granted the Theatre Honour “Afghanistan” if their cumulative contribution of personnel reached a minimum level of 20 per cent of the effective strength of the originating unit in the geographical area of Afghanistan.
  • Units of the Royal Canadian Air Force will be granted the Theatre Honour “Afghanistan” if they deployed within the air space of Afghanistan.
  • Units of the Canadian Special Operations Forces will be granted the Theatre Honour “Afghanistan” if they deployed within the land space of Afghanistan and their cumulative contribution of personnel reached a minimum level of 20 per cent of the effective strength of the originating unit in the geographical area of Afghanistan.

And A-AD-200-000/AG-000

It very closely resembled this: