• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Performance Oriented Electronic Training (POET)

cgyflames01

Inactive
Reaction score
I was looking at the trades I qualified for after taking my CFAT, and I noticed one of the trads is POET, moc #490. I cant find any information on this trade at all. Is it worth looking at??

I think POET is the advanced electronics course that is part of some electronic and communications occupations. LCIS and ATIS for sure.

POET 490 is a foundation course for a mulitude of trades both Air and Land as
most tech trades require a basic understanding of electronics. I was a POET instructor and later
a Standards writer for the course.

Regards OLD F of S

Im going to start my POET training soon and Im trying to find out what the day to day routine is going to be like. 
In total Im going to be in Kingston for about a yr and a half and Im trying to find out if I can live off.  Ive been told that If you live in SQ, there's usually 4 to a room.  One of the LCIS in my unit now did it 8 yrs ago and said that he had to live on for a while but once the crse was in a steady routine they could move off but would still have to maintain a bed space in single quarters.

Any recent grads?

you do not have to keep a bed space in the shacks if you have other places to live.  you can request to have your own place, it make take a month or more to get a memo approved but it happens all the time.  Mind you its expensive in comparison with R&Q.