• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Recruiting Process

• Thread starter Thread starter Wanting2Join
  • Start date Start date
W

Wanting2Join

I tried to apply to the Reserves back in April 2007. I have a 2 year college diploma (honors) but had never graduated high school. I was told to get my GED's then come back. I did just that.
By the end of May I had everything that was required. I passed the aptitude, PT test etc....all that is remaining is my background check.

Now, back in 1996 I (embarrasingly and with regret) was charged with DUI. I told the recruiter this. Now I'm told it could take up to 6 months before I will hear back from them.
I started the appication process in May of '06. It's now November '06. Apparently the background check was not "sent off" until October, which means it could take until April before I get in to the Reserves. That will bring the total months to 12. Isn't this unreasonable? I have skills that are in demand (so I was told) and don't think I can wait a year for them to do a simple check. The CF is losing a potentially valuable member. Is there any way to speed this process up? Once my background check is "sent off" what is it that takes so long?

Thank you to anyone who can enlightened me on this matter :)

Wanting2Join said:
.......... The CF is losing a potentially valuable member. Is there any way to speed this process up? Once my background check is "sent off" what is it that takes so long?

;D  I wonder how many times this has been said, and by whom?

Anyway.........I am curious as to why you haven't taken it upon yourself in the last five or so years to get a Pardon?