• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Remembrance or Veterans?

Edward Campbell

Army.ca Myth
Subscriber
Donor
Mentor
Reaction score
I see that VAC has declared the week 5 to 11 Nov to be Veterans Week.

I remember my first Remembrance Day in uniform. I was a recruit. Our platoon sergeant, a 2WW veteran, gave us each a poppy - I recall it well because something rare happened: he spoke to us, rather than snarling, as was his norm. He gave us each a poppy and showed us how to pin it to our caps - that's where we wore them in the 1960s. He also gave us each a little pice of rubber to put over the end of the pin - poppies fell off, easily, then, too.

A few years later, when I was a junior officer we marched in a parade in Kingston and we were told that it would be good to visit that Legion. It was interesting: a few of the vets wanted to tell us about their experiences; most were indifferent to us and wanted too talk amongst themselves - very understandable, I think, but a few looked askance at us and told us "we were there when Canada was needing 'em, not just feeding 'em."

I believe we need a Remembrance Day, something which is about those who made the supreme sacrifice, NOT about veterans who made it safely home to bed.

Attachments

• vw-poster-2024-1138x400.jpg
    vw-poster-2024-1138x400.jpg
    85.1 KB · Views: 4
I guess now we need to figure out what month doesn't have a Federal Stat Holiday for where it would be appropriate...or should we leave it up to the Provincial and Territorial governments to come up with their own day?

• Humorous
Reactions: ueo
IMHO, veterans (I am one, by any reasonable definition, although I don’t feel like one) don’t need a stat holiday. Remembrance Day also should not be a Stat Holiday. I think it cheapened things to make it anything other than a day of solemn duty for those who care.