• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Spiritual Issues

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ravanosh

Inactive
Reaction score
I have been considering a career in the military for quite a few years now, and I believe I possess the skills and mentality to perform well in a myriad of CF trades.

However, I have difficulty rectifying my deeply-rooted spiritual beliefs with my desire to serve my country and combat evil.

I have considered the path of military chaplain, but at the moment I am too young for the deaconate and I am doubtful that the designation of non-combatant will allow me to serve to the best of my ability.

That is not to say that I desire to end lives, but I recognize that there is such a thing as true evil in the world. Unfortunately most enemies we will face in the middle-east are confused by rhetoric and are not truly evil themselves. It is the "heads of the snake" who represent that fount of evil from which our enemies spring.

It is doubtful that I would ever get the opportunity to strike at such a head, and the thought of killing those who are fighting for a cause they have been convinced is just does not appeal to me. To defend my fellow soldiers and the innocent, I will fire with alacrity and precision, but not out of hand could I bring myself to kill any but those truly deserving of death.

I suppose this is a personal issue, although I was hoping someone with similar beliefs, or a member of the chaplaincy, would perhaps notice this post and be able to provide some measure of guidance.

My thanks to all who serve. Perhaps one day I will join you.

A good padre is worth his/her weight in...

I'm not sure what, but he/she certainly is, so do not worry about not being able to serve to the best of your ability.

If that is to where you are guided, then that is where you should be.