• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

"An unknown soldier" G&M Article on the Globe and Mail

kilekaldar

Inactive
Reaction score
The Globe and Mail just posted a featured article on Private Mark Graham. It's pretty much a tabloid hack job.
I was going to post the following on the article's responce board, but it's been locked after 5 posts. So I sent it to the "Letters to the Editor" instead

here is the link to the article
http://www.theglobeandmail.com/servlet/story/RTGAM.20061027.cover28/BNStory/Front/home

Here is the e-mail I sent

"I'm a soldier. I was in Mark's class in Basic training, and was posted at the same base and I am now in Afghanistan on the same Roto as Mark was.
I cannot claim to have known the man well, but I respected him, and thought him to be a fine man and soldier. And that is how I will remember Mark, how I will honor his sacrifice. No amount of cheap, tabloid journalism from the Globe &Mail can tarnish his memory. Yes, he was human and no doubt messed up a great many things, as we all do. But that matters little. For as a soldier I know something that the reporter who wrote this article cannot phantom; once you put on the uniform you leave your old life, and start anew, it’s a second chance to do it right. Among soldiers it doesn’t mater what you did as a civilian, what maters is what you do once you signed that doted line. And Mark showed himself to be a great soldier.
That this newspaper found it necessary to dig up every dirty little detail of his life and hold it up for the world to see just so they could sell a few more copies, or worse to further some political agenda, is horrendous and makes me sick. There used to be a time when we honored our war dead, now apparently the Globe &Mail disgraces them in public for profit. Shame on you."

I notice comments have been shut down after only five people had submitted remarks...  Just sayin'