• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Bachelor of Applied Science v. Engineering

Anthony5

Inactive
Reaction score
I was hoping someone familiar with the recruiting process could clear something up for me.

During my application process, I was told that I didn't meet the education requirement for Engineering trades because I have a Bachelor of Applied Science, rather than a Bachelor of Engineering (and thus was it necessary for me to get an education waiver). It was my understanding that any degree accredited by the Canadian Engineering Accreditation Board (whether BEng, BASc, Bachelor of Science in Engineering, Bachelor of Engineering Science, etc.) would qualify for an Engineering trade, and the name was simply a matter of semantics/tradition. I find it difficult to believe that the CF would consider a BEng and a BASc to be different when the 10 provinical professional engineering regulatory bodies across Canada do not.

The Recruiting Centre I went to, however, seemed to think it was something closer to a Bachelor of Science (not knocking people with a BS, they just aren't really the same thing), and referred to their papers which only listed Bachelor of Engineering.

I could be wrong, though. Could someone please clarify whether this is a misinterpration by my local recruiting centre, something strange about the CF, or whether there is in fact a difference between the two that I am unaware of?

The recruiter may want to confirm the details of the program.  A BASc(Eng) is not a BSc.

Many engineering degrees in Canadian universities are granted as Bachelor of Applied Science (BASc) in _____ Engineering.  U of T, Waterloo, Queen's and in fact RMC are examples of universities that grant BASc (Eng) degrees.