• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Basic In Aldershot

Whit3

Inactive
Reaction score
Im leaving to camp aldershot the 27th of june and was wondering about weekends. How often will I get the weekend off? If so what will the earnings be for days off while?

I have another question regarding the infantry, considering it's my first year in the reserves what will I expect and look forward too when i begin the course?

Thanks
:cdn:

Are you doing your BMQ/SQ? You should get some weekends off, but I don't think you'll get all of them. It may also depend on how far away you live.  BMQ is lots of fun, and you're lucky to do it in the summer.  I'll be doing my SQ/BIQ there this summer. PM or MSN me if you have more questions.

Thanks for the reply..Yah I am going in for BMQ/SQ...and it's my first year in the reserves...i currently live in the cape and just curious what to expect. What are the living arrangements like?

I haven't been there in a long time, but I've heard that there has been a lot of work done on the barracks. I think it's still H block style. That's army speak for 2 big corridors(which you live in) with a bathroom in the middle. I remember lots of sand, and the mess used to be real good because it was a small base. Not much in the way of night life though.  I think there were two bars out that way, one was "The Anville" and the other was some little sports joint. Again this is 10 years ago so it could be all different now. It's a nice training area, you'll have fun!

I can go back even farther than Rhyno (mid 1980s) to when the Barracks were actually condemned, then again remember that some dated to the Second World War era, and prior. Mind my last summer/fall as staff there (1987) both the "new" Sgts Mess and Fawlty Towers were open and as quarters go not too bad.