• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Handgun and rifle for medical officer?

Status
Not open for further replies.

helijamie

Inactive
Reaction score
I am a new (almost) member of the Health Services Primary Reserve List. I am an orthopaedic surgeon and will very likely spend two months in Kandahar next year. My basic training will be in the spring.

From what I understand I carry a Browning HP handgun. Am I trained on a rifle as well? Will I ever be asked to carry a rifle in Afghanistan?

The reason I ask is I just completed my CRFSC and CFSC. I would like to get familiar with some of these firearms before I go to basic training.

In the past I did quite a bit of skeet shooting but I have never fired a rifle or handgun.

What is the exact model of Browning High Power in use? Can I supply my own weapon if it is the same model in use by the military?

Thank you for your replies.

helijamie said:
I would like to get familiar with some of these firearms before I go to basic training.

Not required. Basic training will teach you what you need to know.

Can I supply my own weapon if it is the same model in use by the military?

No.

Speaking from personal knowledge... you will be trained on the weapons you're required to handle as part of you basic training, and your deployment training. That being said, you will be issued both a rifle and pistol to go into theatre. You will carry the pistol as your day-to-day item.

PM me for any more info you might need about gearing up for KAF.

helijamie said:
I am a new (almost) member of the Health Services Primary Reserve List. I am an orthopaedic surgeon and will very likely spend two months in Kandahar next year. My basic training will be in the spring.

Good to have you on board.