• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Looking for input!

STJ_Kierstead

Inactive
Reaction score
Hello all!

New User, I have recently decided that I will be joining the reserves. I will give a brief description of my background with hopes of input and feedback to my questions throughout!

I have a university degree in criminology, I have worked Corrections in NB and I have also worked at the nuclear power point as an unarmed guard with their security.

I have minimal experience with firearms but am eager and interested in the training mentioned from the recruiter I spoke with.  I will be giving in my paperwork near the middle of august as the recruiter told me he thinks a class will be put on near the end of august. [If i have time to fill the paperwork before then, it will be handed in asap.]

I went on the website and looked through different trades but am still not very sure what is offered at the SJ base, I will be available every thursday night and every weekend and numerous nights throughout the week [whenever possible] (I work a normal job 9-6 M-F)

I have a very supporting gf who has been extremely helpful and supportive which means the world to me, i am turning to the online community for answers and guidance from members with experience.

I welcome any input anyone can offer, I am very eager to get the paper work handed in and my basic training to begin.  I eat very healthy and am in what I would say above average shape [need improvement on my endurance for running] - do pushups regularly and pull ups every time i enter the kitchen.

thank you!

Just one point, if you are only applying now, don't hold your breath on getting on a course at the end of August.  The recruiting process can be time consuming.

See this thread: Application Process Samples.

I will for sure take a look,
thank you!