• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Patience is a virtue! My long journey

dukkadukka

Inactive
Reaction score
Going on 9 months!

I've always been interested in the military! As a young girl, I played with GI Joes (And then they came out with GI Jane, Who became my favourite toy every!) instead of Barbies.  Only problem, is the older I got, the better I got at hockey.  Slowly my interest swayed to pursuing my athletic career and at 17 I was shipped out to a prep school in Vermont, USA.  After I graduated high school, I accepted a scholarship to an American university! After the first year, I was at Nationals, playing for team Ontario in British Columbia when I managed to break my ankle.
They found a tumour because of the break (or the break from the tumour!) So I shelved my skates!
Years pass and I realize, I can still join the CF! Delighted, I ran to the recruiting office mid September 2007.  By November I had every form filled out, all my questions asked and handed them in.  A DAY later I received a call to schedule my medical, CFAT and interview!
Crushed the CFAT, aced my interview (the Captain said he wished every applicant was like me... maybe he wanted to boost my ego.  None-the-less I was ecstatic!) but that darn medical!
I was told to get some information about my surgery. I had a bone graft (bone taken from my hip as well as cadaver) to replace the missing bone in my heel. I went to my family physician and got all the forms, a few weeks pass and I receive a letter from Ottawa.