• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Poet course as a reservist

Irishatis

Inactive
Reaction score
Hey everyone,  Apologies if this is a re-post.

First off, I just finished my basic in St.Jean. I am a reservist Atis tech, I have 0 electronics background. I've done nothing but labor specific jobs most of my life. I presently live in Winnipeg, and as I've read the POET course is 6-8 months usually.
I have my apartment here, car and all that jazz, my question is however.. Being a reservist, Will they help me to either get rid of or store my belongings while I'm away? Should I bring my car, packed with pc/tv and personal things with me? I have animals, No one here to take them.. Anyone have any idea's on options?
I really have no Idea what to expect, I was told about this course at my graduation party at the Mega, I was alittle inebriated. So at this point, I'm completely lost.  Any information on anything would be great.
Thanks in advance.

I recommend talking to your Units OR/Clerk and go over everything with them.  Also if you know anyone from your unit who's been through POET as a Reservist you can get and idea of what to expect in regards to the course and what the CF does if anything for your civvie home, etc.

Also, because I have no idea how it works in the Reserve world, would a Reservist have to do the course all in one shot or is it broken into mods for Reservists?

*edit for spelling

-Skeletor- said:
Also, because I have no idea who it works in the Reserve world, would a Reservist have to do the whole course all in one shot or is it broken into mods for Reservists?

Its one shot, which is why the Comm Res killed the Res LCIS trade. Mbr had to be on Cl B for a year and change, and most just CT'd right after completing the course.