• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Are you happy with your military career? Rant Warning!

navypuke

Inactive
Reaction score
I've been in the navy for 10 years now. Right out of high school. Thought I would see the world and shit like that. But my career has been pretty mundane as fate would hand me.

I have a pretty important job on the ship, possibly one of the most important for an NCM to have. I am a Fire Control Technician. This job incorporates fixing the FC radars that guide our guns and missiles onto target. You could even say that in a combat situation where there are enemy missiles and aircraft flying at us my radars are the most important thing cause they keep the ship alive and all my crewmates alive.

The timely maintenance and care of my equipment is our first line defence against harm. There are maybe two dozen of us in the whole navy, both coasts, so a frigate or destroyer will only ever have one maybe two FC techs aboard.
Yet this kind of responsibility has not ever given me satisfaction in my career.

I have volunteered for four Gulf trips and just recently volunteered for TFA and had a position then Canada lost it too the Brits. I have never sailed beyond North America, nor have I ever been over seas. I feel like I'm missing out on so much and whenever I try to make it happen something just shuts me out.

Some people would say I had a charmed career cause I got promoted fast and I never have to be too far away from home from my family for any longer than 6 weeks. Those are the guys who usually try anything to get out of going to sea and I hate them for it. I don't want to be them, I want to deploy or do something meaningful with my career and I don't know if that will happen.