• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Help Needed Developing Corps Affiliation (Armour) Indoc

rmacqueen

Inactive
Reaction score
I am currently a volunteer instructor with 2097 Cadet Corps in Forest, Ontario.  Our Corps is affiliated with the 1st Hussars but unfortunately we have not had any sort of indoctrination for recruits to instil in them the pride and privilege of wearing the black beret. Having an armour background in the reg force I immediately lobbied the CO to institute this and, with the help of a timely visit by a ex armour cadet, have managed to convince him of its validity.

Now, having been tasked with the development of this I would like to ask for assistance from the members of this forum.  Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

I suppose you have started off with the History of the Black Beret, the History of their affiliated Regiment, and the Armour Corps.  You can also relate to the History of other Nations use of the Black Beret.  Then you can cover the Role of Armour and the Equipment that is used.  That should keep you busy for a while.

I would suggest contacting the Armour School in Gagetown and see what they are teaching at the QL3 level as far as "Regimental" History.

Chances are lesson plans have already been developed and will offer a consistency in training.

Good luck on your search and keep up your work in the cadets.  :salute:

Welcome to the wonderful world of cadets!

The bad news is the CTP only allows one 30 minute period for this.  The good news, you can build more..................get on great terms with the CO, the Trg O and the CO of the affiliated unit.

Please remember KISS.  It is the most important of all teaching principles.