• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

I'm ski-rewed!

The Gues-|-

Inactive
Reaction score
Well, I start basic in two weeks my knee wants to take coffee breaks when I run due to an old injury.  The thing is, I've been training for a couple months in preperation and the pain just started.  I'm on those new "extra strength advil" and codine but it hardly dulls the pain.  I've been icing it as well after runs.  I'm afraid if I stay off it until basic then I'm in trouble and I have to keep my cardio up!  It will take at least 2 weeks to see a doctor so I'm thinking on going balls to the wall through basic with advil and codine.  Should I bother telling my instructors or just not say a word?  I'll pull through, but it is going to be painfull!

Lieing about injuries to staff would be bad, especially at the start of basic. Instructers aren't dumb an will notice if you are having problems moving around and are taking medication. An they will find the pills when they search your kit.  I'd call CFRC an talk to them about it, maybe a medic can check out you, etc. If you are unfit to start right now, no big deal you get put onto another BMQ course later on when you heal.

stay off the knee for the next week to 10 days... use cycling or swimming to maintain cardio... I am just getting over the same thing myself.