• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Int Op and Comm Research?

kas

Inactive
Reaction score
I would prefer to be enlisting in the regular forces as an int op, but as I understand it, the only way to get into intelligence (other than through the reserves) is by putting in a couple years in a different trade first and then transfering over. So what I'm looking for right now are other trades that would make good options for those first few years I have to put in doing something else. I've heard combat arms are what they recommend for this, however, I am nearly blind as a bat, so those are kinda... not an option. Any recommendations?

For reference, I have a degree in computer science (application programming and databases) and an extensive background in linguistics (primarily German, some French and Latin). Suggestions don't necessarily need to align with that though. I'm currently working as a computer game developer and finding the corporate programmer thing is really not doing anything for me... hence the interest in a career change.  ;D

The only trade I've come across that sounds like it would provide good relevant skills is comm research. I found some very helpful information about it in the Signals forums but I still have a couple questions. The training sounds quite intensive, which leads me to wonder if it's possible to enlist directly into comm research as a civvie? Or is it another trade similar to int op where you have to put in time first and then transfer into it? And if comm research is open to civilian enrollment, is there a DEO option?

Thanks very much.  :)

Sounds like the Comm Rsch trade might be the one for you.  We do more of the computer oriented intelligence stuff.  We could definitely make more use of your computer and linguistic skills than Int Ops.  I think that once you get in this trade, you'll find that you won't want to remuster to Int.