• Thanks for stopping by. Logging in to a registered account will remove all generic ads. Please reach out with any questions or concerns.

Past history of depression and anxiety - Potential disqualifiers?

Reaction score
Hello fine folk of Army.ca,

I'm currently in the arduous process of applying to the CAF and I thought I'd try to get some potential insight into the medical examination segment of joining the CAF. This will be relatively long, I apologize, but I'll do my best to provide all the relevant information I can.

I graduated high school in BC in 2019 and then decided to move to Ottawa for university. In October of 2019, I was diagnosed by my GP that I have Major Depressive Disorder and Generalized Anxiety Disorder. I took some medication for a year and even tried therapy for a brief period. Neither of them really did anything, the therapy was just talks about coping mechanisms and ways to change outlooks into positive ones, which I genuinely did already know. The medication on the other hand just had 0 effect on me.

Now, I believe that the reason for this is that my feelings of self doubt and general thoughts on life were caused by life circumstances during high school, including getting broken up with, failing some classes, and just generally feeling helpless and powerless to do anything. Once I moved away to Ottawa though and started making new friends and progressing through life, I came to realize that I don't have these same thoughts and feelings anymore. I haven't been able to go get undiagnosed as I currently do not have a GP in BC as I moved back and my previous one retired and I now no longer live in Ottawa.